Canon 5D MkII


Well it’s been a few months since I started to use the 5D and I must admit the more I use it the more I love it. The 5D is probably the most forgiving camera that I have ever used.

One of its really great features is the ability to have the camera automatically set the ISO depending on the light conditions and the aperture/shutter speed combination chosen. So far I have found this to be one of the most useful settings ever, it really does appear to work very well, not that you would necessarily want to use it all the time.

The 21MP sensor also allows lots of room for cropping, I know most ‘purists’ will say that you shouldn’t crop you should compose, and I’m sure that many do. Thankfully I’m not a purists by ant sense of the imagination, so when needs must (you could read often!) I crop. As an example the following image was taken in the garden using a 70-200mm L lens, but even so I couldn’t get as close as I wanted.

IMG_0774-2

So I cropped it to what I really wanted afterwards.

IMG_0774

All in all I am more than pleased with the result though I’m not too sure how large I will be able to print it. I will have to give it a try and post the results. The only adjustments I made in post processing (Lightroom) were basic white balance and tone.

This image was taken with shutter speed priority at 1/640 with an aperture of f4.5 at 200mm, the camera set the ISO to 160, you can see the full list of settings, including the Lightroom ones by clickiing on the image and viewing the image properties on Flickr.

The photo below was taken a few minutes later but this time the camera set the ISO to 250 as the available light was slightly less, very clever Canon!

IMG_0775

Leave a Reply

