Canon 5D MkII Dropped


Last night my worst fears were realised, I dropped the camera!

We were at our sons attestation ceremony which was followed by a very nice buffet. I had just got a small plate of nibbles and an orange juice, after all I didn’t want to get breathalised by one of the students! I was just putting the plate on the table when the camera fell off the shoulder onto the rather hard floor, no carpets in canteens I’m afraid. I should have put it back into the Hadley before attempting the buffet, what an idiot!

I picked it up and tentatively shook it, and yes it rattled. Needless to say my heart sank, after all this is my latest and greatest. Why couldn’t it have been the 1DS, it’s built to be dropped. I gingerly removed the lens cap to find that the Skylight filter had a bit missing.

L1000122

As you can see from the above photo, taken with the Leica, everything else looks fine.

IMG_1174

So at the moment it would appear that is all the damage. The photo above was taken today using the 5D and the 24-105 lens that was on the body last night. I’m relieved but still a bit apprehensive. Does it look fully in focus? Is the exposure correct? It’s going to take me a while to feel 100% confident again I think.

Here is another photo taken this morning, of the Leica, just to check out a couple more of the functions, Auto ISO, Aperture Priority, Centre Focus Point, guess it looks OK, doesn’t it? For this one I put the filter back on, even with all the finger marks, and to be honest even the broken bit is not visible. I’ll still probably chuck it though as there are still bits of glass coming of it!

IMG_1178

Leave a Reply

