A not so ordinary bit of a lamp


I’ve just started to do a bit of ‘in camera’ HDR, only because I’ve just realised that the Canon 5D MKIII actually allows me to do this. Nine months on from when I first got the beast and I still don’t know anything, I really should read the manual!

The results have actually been quite nice although not up to scratch to post, mainly due to the fact that as usual I’ve tried to rush things, firing of handheld for multiple exposures is not a good idea. The camera does try and align the images but unlike Photoshop doesn’t do a fantastic job at it, I guess I will actually have to get the tripod out of the loft and use it.

In the mean time I thought I would post a before and after shot of a part of a lamp that was processed in Lightroom to give an HDR effect. Considering that this is produced from a single image rather than multiple shots it’s actually not a bad rendition.

Please feel free to let me know what you think.

Canon 5D MkIII, EF 180mm f3.5L Macro USM, 1/640 @ f11, ISO 16000

Canon 5D MkIII, EF 180mm f3.5L Macro USM, 1/640 @ f11, ISO 16000 with Lightroom modifications

Leave a Reply

